Professor Sun Binyong Joined IASM as the Third Permanent Member

Professor Sun Binyong joined IASM as the third permanent member in September 2020. Binyong previously worked at the Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2005-2020).

Binyong’s research focuses on representation theory of Lie groups and the theory of automorphic forms. By proving some long-standing conjectures, he has established several deep and fundamental results for representations of classical groups.

Binyong has received multiple awards for his work, including the Tan Kah Kee Young Scientist Award in 2014, the Outstanding Youth Science and Technology Talent Award in 2016, and the State Natural Science Award (second class) in 2018. In 2019, he was elected member of Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Binyong obtained his bachelor’s degree from Zhejiang University in 1999, and doctorate degree from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in 2004. He had a short postdoctoral experience at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich.